Scotiabank Giller Prize 2022 Shortlist

The shortlist is out for the biggest prize in Canadian literature!

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is a literary award given to a Canadian author of a novel or short story collection published in English (including translation) the previous year, selected annually by a jury. The prize was established in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife Doris Giller, a former literary editor at the Toronto Star, and is awarded in November of each year. The $100,000 prize makes it the biggest in Canadian literature.

Grab your copies at TNRL!

Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century by Kim Fu

The debut collection from PEN/Hemingway Award finalist and ‘propulsive storyteller’ with stories that are by turns poignant and pulpy.

Stray Dogs by Rawi Hage

From the internationally acclaimed author of the novels De Niro’s Game, Cockroach, Carnival and Beirut Hellfire Society, here is a captivating and cosmopolitan collection of stories.

The Sleeping Car Porter by Suzette Mayr

When a mudslide strands a train, Baxter, a queer Black sleeping car porter, must contend with the perils of white passengers, ghosts, and his secret love affair.

If An Egyptian Cannot Speak English by Noor Naga

Winner of the Graywolf Press African Fiction Prize, a lush experimental novel about love as a weapon of empire.

We Measure the Earth with our Bodies by Tsering Yangzom Lama

For readers of Homegoing and The Boat People, a compelling and profound debut novel about a Tibetan family's journey through exile.

Learn More

Visit the Scotiabank Giller Prize website for full information on the longlist and prize events.

Sign up for the TNRL newsletter

Subscribe to get the latest news.

Notice Content Goes Here.
Scroll to Top